Navigate / search

9th Convention of the Electoral Action of Poles in Lithuania – Christian Families Alliance. Tomaševski unanimously elected as the EAPL chairman

9th convention of the Electoral Action of Poles in Lithuania – Christian Families Alliance (EAPL-CFA) took place in Vilnius last Friday, 3rd July. It was attended by delegates of 8 party units and of 78 primary organizations-circles.

Polish „Law and Justice“ (PIS) leader Jarosław Kaczyński sincerely greeted the convention delegates. EAPL-CFA and PIS have been close partners for years. Representatives of both parties form the ECR groups in the European Parliament, Committee of the Regions in Brussels and Council of Europe in Strasbourg.

EAPL-CFA leader Valdemar Tomaševski underlined the strengthened position of the party. After municipal elections of 2019, 56 council members of even six municipalities (Vilnius City, Visaginas, Districts of Vilnius, Šalčininkai, Trakai, and Švenčionys) were in a coalition and constituted the executive power. Moreover, 8 EAPL-CFA representatives have been working in the Lithuanian Parliament for several terms. The party is also visible on the international political stage; its leader Tomaševski has been elected as the member of the European Parliament for the third time and holds the post of the ECR group bureau member and the deputy chairman of the Delegation for relations with Belarus in the European Parliament.

Chairman of the party stressed that during the elections to the European Parliament in 2019, which are classified as purely political elections, in which all parliamentary parties took part, only EAPL-CFA managed to maintain the support gained during the elections to the Seimas in 2016. In both (2016 and 2019) elections the party received 70 thousand votes (5.5 %).

Valdemar Tomaševski was reelected as the EAPL chairman for a new term by secret ballot. 134 delegates voted in favour, one was against, and one abstained.

Delegates of the convention accepted the proposal of the EAPL-CFA leader to increase the number of deputy chairmen from 5 to 8. Therefore, deputy chairmen Vanda Kravčionok, Marija Rekst, Zdzislav Palevič and Zbignev Jedinski were joined by Marija Puč, Jaroslav Narkevič, Rita Tamašunienė and Valdemar Urban.

Moreover, the members of the General Council of EAPL-CFA were elected during the convention and the number was increased from 21 to 33 members. To add, party supervisory and audit committees were also formed.